It’s not a bad day for me. It’s really just another day. It actually represents a good thing – my maternal grandmother was born on this day 116 years ago. And it was a Friday. She married a man born on April 1st. Such irony. So fitting for my family. You would agree if you knew us.

I guess a lot of people take it seriously, that it is an unlucky day. But the origins of the superstition are varied from culture to culture. The thought that 13 is an unlucky number seems to have something to do with it. I like the number 13. It’s a prime number, and I like prime numbers. There are few of them, and they are different from the rest because they can only be divided equally by 1 and themselves.

Then there is the black cat. Another sign of misfortune. And yet, my black cat, Gizmo, is not unlucky for me. He does have a bad habit of getting underfoot, and complaining if you don’t go around him. If you step on him, which I do occasionally because I don’t see him there, he will let out a scream like a banshee. This upsets the other cats, and the dogs look at me funny. It upsets me too, because it startles me. So he gets stepped on, or run over by enthusiastic dogs on their way to the door. Seems more unfortunate for him than for me. But in all the years we’ve had him, he hasn’t seen fit to change this. He is a prince, after all.


As I sit here looking out the window, all I see are blue skies and new blossoms, budding leaves and trees swaying in a gentle breeze. This lifts my spirits greatly. It’s going to be a fine day, and a fine weekend!



