Tags

I’m standing on the promises of a God who never lies. I’m walking on water. The boat might be overcome with waves, the sea might be thrashing out of control, the clouds and rain might be pelting down in sheets. But I am staying on top. I’m standing on something more solid than rock. I’m standing on His word.

Scripture testifies that God has magnified His word above all His name (Psalm 138:2). It says that God is not a man that He should lie, neither the son of man that He should repent; that if He has said, He will do it; that if He has spoken, He will make it good (Numbers 23:19). It states that His word never returns without accomplishing that which He sent it out to do (Isaiah 55:11).

I’m on good ground.

The things around me have been challenging. There have been times when I have felt like giving up, giving in, caving. But the Spirit of this same God dwells within me, and I am born of Him. Therefore when I feel like that, when I feel tempted to quit, that Spirit rises up inside me, and reminds me that I am not of that seed anymore. Quit isn’t in my options menu. Give up isn’t in my vocabulary, unless it’s spoken to the circumstances around me, and to the enemy of my soul, who only comes to steal, kill, and destroy.

I will have a good report to write about. I already do. I already can. Calling those things that are not as though they were, like a child who imitates her father. I’m putting my words out there, like my Father does His, making His words my words. I’m looking hard into the covenant that He made with us, and finding His promises. He promised Abraham, when He first cut the covenant with him, that He would bless him, and make him a blessing. That is the same covenant that I am a partaker of, through faith.

You may wonder how I can have such confidence in someone I have never seen. It’s because of his word. When He gave His word, He gave himself. In the beginning was the word and the word was with God, and the word was God … and the word became flesh and dwelled among us. And if you’ve seen Jesus, you’ve seen the Father. I see Him all the time, every time I read His word. If he magnified His word above all His name, then so shall I. I have made His word final authority in my life, did that over 30 years ago. He has never let me down, and His word has never failed me.

I don’t expect it to now.

